top of page
  • LYDIA NJUGUNA

BLUSHES FOR DARK SKIN.

Updated: May 25, 2020

(that I've used so far)



photography by lydia njuguna



I remember a time when you would rather be caught dead than wearing blush,
 

Finding the right blush color that compliments your skin tone is vital,

Blushes for the longest time did not live up to the standards they do today where the only option you had was to use your lipstick as blush or go without it, needless to say it was not a necessity to the black woman.

Years have now gone by and the cosmetics world have slowly but surely embraced the fact that there are more people who would love to use a product that compliments their skin and doesn't make them look ghostly or slapped across the face with pink chalk.


CREAM BLUSHES


This MAC cream color base is a very pretty red that easily blends into your cheeks leaving a faint but very present color on them. Cream blushes are quite the hype at the moment and safe to say i understand why.



 


I have mostly experimented with compact powder blushes over the past two years of my make-up escapades and here are a couple i would recommend for the everyday woman.



 


Careline blusher in golden chestnut

I like using this particular one when am going for a natural face beat, it blends beautifully into my skin.


Clarins blush prodige illuminating cheek color 04 in sunset coral


My clarins blush and highlight palette

This blush and highlight duo gives a very beautiful smooth dewy finish, i would recommend it for an easy wear and dash out of the house especially because of its 2-1 capabilities. It's one of the only blushes on this list i usually go for on a daily.


MAC yum yum yum magic dust powder


i am a particular fun of this one mainly because of the shimmer it has but its a bit too light for me so i like to mix it together with the zaron cosmetics eye shadow and blush duo to add a little bit of color to my cheeks.


zaron cosmetics eye shadow and blush duo, i use the berry red color on my cheeks,its honestly the prettiest blush color for dark skin girls.



BH cosmetics blush,highlight & contour palette

The blush on this one is a dark pink hue that looks almost ethereal on my skin but i do like mixing it up with the Zaron cosmetics blush to add a tiny bit of color but i also love it as an eye shadow on my eyelids.

bottom of page