top of page
  • LYDIA NJUGUNA

FACE SERUM; WHY YOU NEED THIS PARTICULAR ONE.


Photo c/o @ lydia_njuguna


I started using a face serum little over six months ago and to be honest i really never understood what the hype about them was until i got my first bottle. If you are in the same boat as i was a couple of months ago let me break down what a serum is and what its supposed to do. Serums are basically oils/moisturizers that are lightweight and penetrate deeper to deliver active ingredients to the skin. This however depends on whether its a water based serum or an oil based serum. Water based serums go on before your creams or moisturizers whereas oil based serums go on after so that it can keep your moisturizer moist through the day. I don't have a particular knowledge of whats on the market but research is your best friend.


So enough about that,lets get into the serum i have been loving . It's from a Rwandan based brand called Zerufi organics and to be honest its probably one of my proudest purchases of 2019. Its a soothing and repairing serum that's mainly meant for people with sensitive skin.I contacted the brand on Instagram mainly because i found their whole branding adorable and i let them know about my skin issues and this was one of the products recommended to me.I had never used a serum before so i was quite eager to get my hands on it. As a girl with highly acne- prone ,sensitive skin i found this product to be very soothing especially when i had occasional acne or just skin flair ups. I purchased mine from Kasha Kenya.









It is infused With Baobab oil, Moringa oil, Tea tree oil, Lavender oil, Geranium oil, Sesame oil, Vitamin e oil, and other Essential oils that help balance your skin out.




This non-sticky, non-oily serum contains the most optimal ingredients that help regulate, restore and revitalize your skin. Moringa oil is extremely calming for overactive or problem skin, lavender oil greatly ease sensitivity around the pores, while Baobab oil and a blend of other essential oils moisturizes your skin and rids it of blemishes for a fresh clean look -zerufi organics-

I like applying it on my skin during the night time after cleansing and toning my skin. It has an applicator that makes it easy to fairly distribute the product through my face and neck without wasting product. It is mainly oil based with ingredients that make application easy and that seep easily through the skin whilst leaving it glowy and well moisturized. It barely has a scent mainly because they use natural based oils to make their products but some have found the smell "unbearable". I personally don't like applying moisturizer after it because my face just feels heavy with both so i opt not to. The company do have other serums you could try out depending on you skin type or needs as well as other beauty related products.


All in all i would recommend you try this serum out if;

-You have sensitive skin as it mildly soothes your skin.

-If your skin gets dry patches every once in a while.

-If your looking for a serum that could easily work as a moisturizer.


Its price point is fair compared to store bought serums and its packaging is small 1 fl oz/ 30ml which is pretty standard for skincare in general and easy to fit in your bag. It lasted me well over 6 months and all in all did not agitate my skin after use.


bottom of page