top of page
  • LYDIA NJUGUNA

MASKING; A BEGINNERS GUIDE TO CLEAR-ISH SKIN.


Photography by Lydia Njuguna.


From clay masks to sheet masks to masks with snail enzymes in it, masking has become one of the worlds most revered forms of skin care.

I don't know about you but i can always feel a pimple coming even before it pops up.My face is like a host for acne and whiteheads and its honestly the most annoying thing ever. I never really had skin issues during my teenage years, but once i started using and experimenting with make-up everything went south.

I never really took good care of my skin during that period but the older I've gotten the better i have become in taking good care of my skin and masking has really been a big help to me.

Whether its DIY masks or store bought masks,i always try and find something i know my skin would need, for example; if my face feels a little bit too tight then i would get a hydrating sheet mask, if am breaking out i'll use a clay mask and if i just look dull and or have dark spots then my inner DIY queen comes out. It's all about finding what works for your skin and whether it would improve how it looks within a period of time.

I have oily, acne prone,sensitive skin so for every product i pick i always check the ingredient list and ensure the products contain ingredients that would cater for my skin specifically.



DIY MASKS FOR BRIGHTENING AND IMPROVING SKIN TEXTURE

Hyper pigmentation and dark spots ( a product of acne) are the worst, it gets so bad that you just decide to live with it as is. But don't fret, there are numerous ways to improve the appearance of dark spots and hyper pigmentation but the cheapest is the use of DIY masks whether store bought or one you decide to cook up in your kitchen we all have our own way of dealing with our skin issues. I really enjoy using this zerufi organics sandal wood, turmeric and moringa mask that i got from kasha kenya. It comes in powder form and requires you to mix it up yourself using honey or water, i personally like adding in apple cider vinegar. Turmeric helps lighten dark spots and sandal wood helps reduce skin inflammation.

You can buy turmeric on its own and use it to help improve your dark spots as well.


CLAY MASKS & CHARCOAL MASKS


biw biw charcoal mask


clay masks draw out impurities from your pores and really come in handy when you feel that pimple popping up. I use clay masks twice weekly just so that it can draw out any impurities my face may have accumulated from wearing make-up.



DR ORGANICS virgin olive oil face mask


SHEET MASKS


Sheet masks are an amazing way to add moisture back into your skin.Some sheet masks detoxify your skin while others have anti aging properties that help keep your skin youthful and glowing.I like using a sheet mask if my skin feels overly dehydrated and dry or if i have an important event to go to just to bring out my natural glow.



 


Masking has numerous benefits it just about finding what works for you, i would 100% recommend it for clearing your skin and overall improving of skin texture.Always remember to moisturize after and drink tonnes of water and also mind your own business lol.



 


SHOP PRODUCTS HERE:

















disclaimer; i am in no way shape or form a skin expert or professional i am just a girl obsessed with beauty products.

bottom of page